Faith that we will see our loved ones again is stronger than our grief if we give it the weight of truth.

This evening I was very sorry to hear of the passing of “Mikey” or Mike Avery my wife’s brother, only sibling and my friend. I was looking forward to spending more time with you. Now, It seems I will have to wait a longer to spend time with you again than I thought I would have to. I am still in shock. My children are grieving. A few weeks ago I believe the lord wanted me to discuss the subject of death with my children. I had no idea why. I reluctantly agreed, trusting on the lord to help me know what to say. This is what was said. If I was to tell them I was going away to another city and that they soon would come to visit me, would they be sad? They all said no. I said they would not be sad because they trusted me when I told them they would soon be with me and that they would all make the same trip. Then I said, what if you didn’t believe me? What if you thought I was going to a new city but you yourself would never make that trip and never see me again? What if you really believed that I was lying and that you would never see me again? Would you be sad? They all said “yes.” I said the difference between being sad or not being sad would only be your “trust”. If you trusted me and my words you would not be sad. If you believed you would see me soon and we would be together again in a little while there would be no reason to be sad. I then said. “if we trust what God says and his words about him taking us and our loved ones to heaven (believe in the lord Jesus Christ and thou shalt be saved and thy house) , then if any one you love dies we can believe we will one day see them again because we all will make the same trip.” We trust God and so we have a different reality than what our senses tell us. We can feel differently because we realize our separation is really only temporary. Our strong trust in what God says and who he is let’s us rest. (he that believes enters into the rest)

However if we do not believe what God says then there is no trust there to block the sadness. We are living in a different reality than God because we do not believe what he says and instead believe what we see or feel. We then experience the worlds reality and not the reality of heaven. It is our trust that protects us and makes us realize it is just temporary and our loved one are not really lost forever.
I then went over some bible verses about God tells us to “sorrow not as the others who have no hope” and that Jesus “bore our sorrow “and carried our griefs”. That meant we did not have to carry it ourselves.

Sadness and grief can be debilitating and uncomfortable. In one verse God is called the God of all comfort. He does not want us to be uncomfortable and so he came as Jesus to carry our sorrows and griefs for us.

Fighting the grief that is trying to take over our hearts means using spiritual weapons. Our trust in that is something spiritual. Faith is spiritual, and so is grief.
Faith that we will see our loved ones again is stronger than our grief if we give it the weight of truth. It pushes out the worlds reality of grief and lets us live in heavens reality of peace. We decide. Our belief that Jesus carried our grief and sorrows allows us to link up with that reality, the reality that God wants us to live in. The reality of heaven. That faith in Gods words and his character allows us to share Gods reality, or be a part of Gods kingdom. There is no grief in heaven and we can live there now depending on what we believe. The choice is ours, but it will be a fight. We will have to take “every thought captive”, because grief will keep trying to get back in our hearts.
They went to bed after our chat and I was wondering why God had been so persistent that I have this talk with them about death. ( I really didn’t want to have that talk) The next day their best friends aunt died. They had all known her. I heard one of my boys telling their friend the same thing I had told them the night before. Thier friend came to me later and told me what I had said about going to another city really helped them.
Now tonight we went through all of it again but it was our family this time. There were many tears.
They seem to be a lot better now though. Our family would like to thank you in advance for you thoughts and prayers. God has provided all of us what we need to win when we face death even if it is our own. Jesus beat death for us and our loved ones. Our faith makes that victory ours. Our faith is greater than grief. “love is stronger than death” “God is love” “God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit” Romans 5:5

“Brothers and sisters, we don’t want you to be ignorant about those who have died. We don’t want you to grieve like other people who have no hope. We believe that Jesus died and came back to life. We also believe that, through Jesus, God will bring back those who have died. They will come back with Jesus.”

Leave a Reply

