Being a better person by trusting Christ all the time

Received a letter from a friend who wrote:

Tim
God is doing good things in my life. Wanted to ask you to agree with me about this issue I have with anger in my life. Asking God to heal it but need someone to pray in agreement. Its to the point where I am trying hard to deal with it but not making much progress. Thanks for your earlier encouragement too. Quick praise report; I am playing music with a band every weekend and I am tithing again (thank the Lord). 

This was my reply, he said I should post it.

Anger is tough, I always find myself loosing the battle on this one if I am not “in Christ”. The only way I have beat anger or anything else sin wise, is to be diligent on trusting Christ for his help to beat it. In Romans 6, 7, , 8 we find we can’t do it ourselves. “we want to do right but don’t do it and then we don’t want to do wrong but do it anyway” romans says. Trusting Christ allows us to break the vicious cycle of sin and death. There is no way to beat sin without this working trust. Jesus said without him you can’t do a thing. In this case the sin is inappropriate anger. It works with anything.

I have found that God wants us to trust Christ all the time 24/7, not just when we get into trouble. Jesus said anyone right with me has to let me lead. God wants us to trust Christ and act in concert with Christ spirit instead of our old nature. As we do this we “crucify” our flesh and we make Christ alive in us. It gradually conforms us to the image of his own son which is God’s goal. (Romans 8:29) Every time we yield to Christ our behavior becomes more like him. We become one with him. Every time we yield to our own nature we become conformed to it. Also when you sin you give the devil legal rights to start pulling your puppet strings. One you sin it has a real effect on you and you are subject to the devils control in some way. Jesus said, you are all slaves of sin, and slaves don’t have rights. You need to stop following the dictates of your flesh and your mind and follow the impulses and direction of the spirit. We have to die to self.

Ephesians 2:3  Indeed, all of us once behaved like them in the lusts of our flesh, fulfilling the desires of our flesh and senses. By nature we were destined for wrath, just like everyone else. 

This is why Christ says to find your life you have to loose it. It is something you have to be very diligent about. The word says to put on Christ and make no provision for the flesh to do what it wants you to do. God has judged the flesh guilty and Jesus stepped up and took the punishment for the misdeeds of our flesh.

When we Trust in Christ we can stop and deaden the legal rights that the flesh (influenced by the devil) has on us. The motivating urges and desires can be stopped by trusting Christ. Since Jesus blood removes the legal demands on us (and therefore the devils right to control us) we can then legally say no to it. It happens by faith in that sacrifice. Then we are legally able to do the urges and wants of God.

It is a very fine line to live like this and demands a great deal of attention. We have to “die daily” like Paul says. It can be hard on your flesh. Paul said he “buffeted” (beat) his body and made it subject to Christ. he said if he didn’t he would be counted as “unworthy” and asked to stand aside. Romans 7 echoes this in saying that if we keep following our own flesh we will perish. He said in his flesh dwells no good thing. I am constantly relying on God to help with his power to make me not act in my flesh. Sometimes I don’t do it right and disaster is the result. I can yell or get frustrated or sad etc. Sin brings with it death. That’s why its important to go back to faith in the blood to remove the legal rights that the devil has on us. (without the shedding of blood there is no remission of sins”) This cuts the puppet strings of the devil and his spiritual government since sin no longer has legal claim to you therefore you are free from his forced leadership (slavery) . “the anointing breaks the yoke” Its translated “dissolves” the yoke. Makes it not work any more.

( a yoke is where they put two oxes or horses together to make them pull a load)

http://www.cafepress.com/+satans_yoke_mug,412549420 (the cares of this world and the wanting of other things chokes out the word and it becomes unfruitful- the parable of the sower)

Its either you and Satan via your flesh or you and Jesus via your spirit.

Jesus says “his yoke is easy and fits us perfectly“. This is the power of trusting Christ from moment to moment. God causes us always to triumph (win) “in Christ”

Christ means the anointed one and his anointing. I thought I would add my two cents here and what I know about this. There is a mystery in Christ. This is a good deal of how it works.

Romans 6:16 Don’t you know that if you offer to be someone’s slave, you must obey that master? Either your master is sin, or your master is obedience. Letting sin be your master leads to death. Letting obedience be your master leads to God’s approval.

Romans 6:16 The Message (MSG)

What Is True Freedom?
15-18 So, since we’re out from under the old tyranny, does that mean we can live any old way we want? Since we’re free in the freedom of God, can we do anything that comes to mind? Hardly. You know well enough from your own experience that there are some acts of so-called freedom that destroy freedom. Offer yourselves to sin, for instance, and it’s your last free act. But offer yourselves to the ways of God and the freedom never quits. All your lives you’ve let sin tell you what to do. But thank God you’ve started listening to a new master, one whose commands set you free to live openly in his freedom! 

(sin is in your flesh, and obedience is obedience to the spirit of Christ, our savor and our God)
If you think its worth posting on my blog tell me and I will post this there.

And he replied:

Tim
I encourage you not only to post my request, but please post your reply as well. I think it would help others and thanks. 

Matthew 11:28-30

New King James Version (NKJV)

28 Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” 

One comment

  1. Thank you for this blog. I am a living testimony of having incontrollable anger. May God bless you and your family. This has truly made my day

Leave a Reply

