it,s the supreme art of the devil that he can make a law of the gospel, another great luther quote

It’s the supreme art of the devil that he can make the law out of the gospel. If I can hold on to the distinction between law and gospel, I can say to him any and every time that he should kiss my backside. … Once I debate about what I have done and left undone, I am finished. But if I reply on the basis of the gospel, “The forgiveness of sins covers it all,” I have won.

A way I have learned to diffuse religion is by a verse that says that all the laws of God are summed up in love God and then love others. Sometimes Our flesh may rebel against Gods directives or through fear we might make Gods grace into a law that is oppressive. For instance Jesus says we must take up our cross daily. Well that command has to be some derivative of love God and love others. It makes it joyful when love is involved. The joy of the lord is our strength.

from a blog I read some stuff on

http://isaiah543.wordpress.com/2008/05/29/another-great-luther-quote/

Leave a Reply

