I have the power!

In Romans 8 we read, I want to do right but I end up doing wrong, I don’t want to do wrong, but I end up doing it anyway. Who can help me escape this body doomed to death, (the illustration here is where they used to strap on a dead body on someone and let them rot along with the body as a torture, ya they did that in roman days)

he man

Well our spirit man has got a body like that strapped on. It has taken over the heart with selfishness and its desires. When our spirit man is renewed by the new birth we have to get that heart completely back from the flesh but this is impossible without help. It says we were like the others following the impulses of the flesh and of the mind and were children of wrath like the others.

Ephesians 2:1-3 (Amplified Bible)
1 AND YOU [He made alive], when you were dead (slain) by [your] trespasses and sins

2 In which at one time you walked [habitually]. You were following the course and fashion of this world [were under the sway of the tendency of this present age], following the prince of the power of the air. [You were obedient to and under the control of] the [demon] spirit that still constantly works in the sons of disobedience [the careless, the rebellious, and the unbelieving, who go against the purposes of God].

3 Among these we as well as you once lived and conducted ourselves in the passions of our flesh [our behavior governed by our corrupt and sensual nature], obeying the impulses of the flesh and the thoughts of the mind [our cravings dictated by our senses and our dark imaginings]. We were then by nature children of [God’s] wrath and heirs of [His] indignation, like the rest of mankind.

This is the nugget in the Romans 8 that helped me understand how I could be a Christian.

I was raised Baptist and we were given a long list of stuff to do or not to do but was never told how to accomplish any of it.

I love the baptists, but it says in the last days their will come a people who have a form of godliness but deny its power and to stay away from people like this. Well I would start out trying to do what was required but always failed at it. Soon I just gave up entirely but consented that they were right about what was right and wrong I just could not do it. Well now Romans 8 gave me a whole perspective. Here they were saying that I could have help. Jesus got rid of the power of the flesh over me on the cross and simply by trusting him to help me I could stop sinning. Now this was good news. I learned that instead of me having to be strong and stop I could just depend on Jesus power and he would make me stop. It says that its God at work in us making us want to do his will and then empowering us to do it. Jesus said that without him we could do nothing. This made it me and Jesus against the world instead of just me. The bible says that to those that received him to them gave he power to become the sons of God, even to them that believe on his name. It also says that Jesus would never fail us. This was the power I needed to obey. So it wasn’t all up to me anymore. We are super conquerers through him that loves us.

4 comments

  1. Hi!! Your blogs are wonderful!! They are very personal and uplifting, thank you for taking time out to share the Lord with people like me! May God bless you!!!

  2. Hello, I I the country Iran you from what country you are. You in connection with the spirit do you have enough information that I question you thank you

Leave a Reply

